Uncategorized

‘Downfall’ by Kerry Kaya

Synopsis

The Carter Family are back and this time they mean trouble…

One wrong move…

As the current head of the family firm, Jimmy Carter has decided it’s time for him to step down and for one of his other brothers to lead the family. Except only one of his brothers wants the job – the youngest Carter brother – reckless hot-head, Jonny.

Carla Carter has never forgiven her tramp of a mother for cheating on her beloved dad, Sonny and she’s determined to avenge him in the most perfect way: by stealing from the man who stole everything from her.

Could mean their downfall.

Her Uncle Jimmy would never consider Carla’s plan – it’s way too risky and dangerous. But Jonny needs to prove himself. He thinks this job could be the one to secure their future and prove his name as the new top dog.

But with Carla and Jonny both blinded by their own pride, the rest of the Carters think they are making a deadly mistake. And instead of securing their family legacy, this one job could cost the Carter family everything…

My Review

I am a fan of Kerry and her work and have been for quite a while now. I must admit that I haven’t quite caught up with everything that she has written but I hope to change that in the not too distant future. I read the synopsis of ‘Downfall’, which is the first book in a new series featuring the next generation of the Carter family, and it certainly sounded like the sort of book I have come to expect from Kerry – a gritty, gripping, tense and dramatic read. Well it was that and so much more. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Downfall’ but more about that in a bit.

As with all of Kerry’s books, the synopsis was enough to grab my attention and draw me in. As soon as I started reading, I quickly realised three things : firstly that I was reading something special, secondly that I was going to become addicted to the story and thirdly that I would find it rather difficult to put the book to one side for any length of time. I was spot on with all three predictions. I started reading and basically didn’t stop for a good three hours. I was blown away by the story and couldn’t turn the pages of the book quickly enough. My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story. I had to keep reading to see if the story was going to develop in the way in which I thought it would. The more of the book that I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. I was so wrapped up in the story that I didn’t realise just how quickly the time was passing and just how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘Downfall’. I found ‘Downfall’ to be a gripping, tense and dramatic story with twists and turns aplenty. The story certainly kept me guessing and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘Downfall’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Kerry Kaya. Kerry has an easy going writing style that is easy to get used and easy to get along with. In fact you could say that Kerry’s books read like a conversation between (slightly scary) friends rather than reading a book. I hope that makes sense. For me, the story hit the ground running and maintained a fairly fast pace throughout. Kerry clearly cares about her characters and this shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem as real as you and I. I have to be honest and say that some of the characters scared the doo doo out of me. Reading ‘Downfall’ felt like being an a rather scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with more twists and turns than you would find on a ‘Snakes & Ladders’ board.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Downfall’ and I would definitely recommend it to other readers. I hope to read much more of Kerry’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment