Uncategorized

‘The Perfect Home’ by Natasha Boydell

Synopsis

Until the girl went missing, we thought it was the perfect place to live…

When we move into the exclusive Westford Park housing estate, we feel safe at last. More like a country club, it has everything we might need – beautiful houses with big gardens, a pool, a boating lake, extensive grounds. It’s also got 24/7 security.

Our new neighbours are lovely too. We start to make friendships that feel like they could last a lifetime.

It feels like nothing could possibly go wrong here.

It’s like our secrets haven’t followed us here.

Or that’s what we think at first…

My Review

I first discovered Natasha and her superb books when I was invited to read and review ‘The Fortune Teller’ in April 2024. Since then I have been rather impatiently waiting for her second book to be released. Well ladies and gents the wait is over because Natasha’s new book is here! Her new book is called ‘The Perfect Home’ and it was released on 21st June 2024. I thought that her previous book was good but for me, ‘The Perfect Home’ was even better! I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Perfect Home’ but more about that in a bit.

I have to be honest and say that I wasn’t keen on any of the characters but that’s not such a bad thing because at least it meant that I didn’t favour one character over the other. I didn’t warm to any of them because I got the impression that they were all rather two faced and that the side of their personality that they presented in public was different to the side that they were presenting at home. In that sense, they were a bit like Jekyll and Hyde. I also got the impression that each of the main characters were keeping something hidden and that they would do anything to keep it that way. Maybe that’s just my suspicious nature and I have read too much crime fiction where I believe nobody and suspect everybody.

It’s no word of a lie when I say that I was drawn into the story from the very first word on the very first page. From then on it was almost as if the book had developed a hold over me and it was a hold that I wasn’t going to break. I found it nigh on impossible to put the book down for any length of time. My Kindle was well travelled that day because it went everywhere with me. I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story. Besides I had developed my own theories as to what was going to happen so of course I had to keep reading to see if I was on the right track or if I had wandered off in the opposite direction. This was one of those books that proved to be rather addictive in the sense that the story stayed with me whether I had the book in my hand or not – if I wasn’t reading the book, then I was thinking about it. If I had to put the book down for any length of time then I would immediately look forward to being able to pick the book up again. I was so wrapped up in the story and in the lives of the characters themselves that I didn’t realise just how quickly the time was passing and how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘The Perfect Home’. I found ‘The Perfect Home’ to be a gripping, tense and dramatic psychological thriller that certainly kept me guessing.

‘The Perfect Home’ is extremely well written and then some. Natasha certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what proved to be one hell of a story. For me, ‘The Perfect Home’ was more of a slow burn type of story and as the story continued, the pace of the action gathered momentum. Natasha certainly cares about her characters and this shines through in the very vivid and realistic was in which she describes them. She describes them so well that they seem just as real as you and I. Natasha’s characters also have several different layers to their personalities. Reading ‘The Perfect Home’ felt like being on an at times rather scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way. I love the way in which the author makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Perfect Home’ and I would recommend it to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Natasha’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment