Uncategorized

‘Don’t Tell A Soul’ by D.K. Hood

The floor was stone cold on her bare skin. Her heart pounded in her chest. ‘Not a soul knows where I am,’ she thought as she took in the darkness around her. And then she heard his footsteps…

When a body is found stuffed into a barrel at a garbage dump, covered in long red cuts, Detective Jenna Alton and her new deputy, David Kane, rush to the scene.

Nothing ever happens in the small American town of Black Rock Falls, so Jenna believes the victim must be one of two recent missing persons, and she fears for the life of the other.

Both were strangers to the town, but there’s nothing else to link them. Jenna knows someone must have seen something, but no one’s talking; how well does she really know the people around her?

Then a disturbing clue makes Jenna suspect a connection with other disappearances in the town’s history. Just when she begins asking the right questions, she realises she’s being followed. Is she next on the killer’s list?

In a race against time, Jenna and David must unlock the dark secret at the heart of the town, before it’s too late…

 

I love discovering new writers and I especially love discovering new writers, who write about serial killing.  When I was offered the chance to read, review and appear on the blog blitz for ‘Don’t Tell A Soul’ by D. K. Hood, I was thrilled to accept.  The book ticked the aforementioned two boxes and so I eagerly opened the cover of the book and began reading.

I took to the characters of Detective Jenna Alton and her new deputy David Kane from the start, who are actually very alike.  It’s clear that something has happened in their respective pasts, which affected them both greatly both mentally and physically.  It affected them so much that effectively they had to disappear and assume new identities.  Both are naturally suspicious of each other and of strangers.  In fact both characters seem to be loners and they much prefer to be on their own than in a crowd.  Kane seems very much a macho man, able to look after himself and others.  Alton and Kane work well together and although at times they are each suspicious of the other one, they generally have each other’s backs.  We don’t find out too much about what happened to them in their pasts but certain details are drip fed and the reader is left wanting more, which bodes well for future books.

For a debut novel, ‘Don’t Tell A Soul’ is extremely well written.  I was drawn in from the first word on the first page and I found the book  extremely addictive.  I just couldn’t put the book down and not because it was glued to my hand, but my Kindle had to come everywhere with me because I just wanted to read on and see what else fate had in store for Kane & Alton.  The pages were turning that quickly that it was almost as if they were turning themselves and before I knew it, I had finished the book, which I was so disappointed about.  The author uses such powerful descriptions that I could literally visualise myself in the small town, where the book is set., with the snow, the cold weather and the small town mentality that was evident in the behaviour of the town’s inhabitants.  Reading this book was a lot like being on a rollercoaster ride with lots of twists, turns and stomach churning moments.  Just when you thought that you could gather your thoughts and reclaim your stomach then off the action would go again.  The story hit the ground running and really, kept the pace up throughout.  There were literally times when I almost had to read through my fingers and hold my breath because I genuinely feared what was going to happen next.  The author clearly cares about her characters and this shines through in the quality of her writing.  The characters are certainly plausible, believable and realistic.  I began to think of Kane and Alton as friends and I naturally felt protective and defensive of them.

In short, I really did enjoy this debut thriller and I can’t wait to read further books in the series.  There is certainly enough scope in Kane and Alton’s back stories for a few more books in the series.  I, for one, certainly hope that the wait for book 2 isn’t that long because I need more of Kane.  I would recommend this book to anybody.  I award this book 4* out of 5*.

 

2 thoughts on “‘Don’t Tell A Soul’ by D.K. Hood

Leave a Reply

