Uncategorized

‘The Lost Child’ by Patricia Gibney

They placed me in here and threw away the key. I look down at the gown they’ve put on me. I want my own clothes. I don’t know how long I’ve been here.
An elderly woman is found murdered in her own home, and Detective Lottie Parker and her partner Detective Boyd are called in to investigate. When they discover that the victim’s daughter is missing as well, they start to fear for the safety of the whole family…
Two days later as a nearby house is set on fire and with the body count rising, Lottie and her team begin to unpick a web of secrets and lies, as the murders seem to link back to a case investigated by Lottie’s father before he took his own life.
With little knowledge of what really happened to her father, Lottie knows this is a case that could give her some answers. But how much does she want to know? And how far is Lottie prepared to dig to uncover the truth?

 

This is the third book in the best selling series featuring D.I Lottie Parker.  The first two books in the series are called ‘The Missing Ones’ and ‘The Stolen Girls’.  I read ‘The Stolen Girls’ earlier this year and I absolutely loved it, so when I was invited to take part in the blog blitz for ‘The Lost Child’ I grabbed the opportunity with both hands and did a little happy dance, which wasn’t pretty.  Anyway I digress back to the review.

I took to DI Lottie Parker from the start.  She is a woman, who has been damaged by events from her past.  DI Lottie Parker lives at home with her sister and the sister’s child.  In order to cope with the stresses and strains that come with the living arrangements, her very stressful career as a police officer and her past history she has turned to alcohol and she is using it as her coping mechanism.  Lottie also has a dependence on pills and she is convinced that she cannot function without them.  DI Lottie Parker is a hard working, determined police officer who strives to seek justice for the victims of crime and equally to punish those responsible for such crimes.  Lottie is a bit of a loner and keeps people at a distance.  There is someone who is closer to her than most and that is her work partner Boyd, who is concerned that she is drinking again.  This leads to friction with him and at times their relationship becomes strained.  I also like Boyd who comes across as a hardworking policeman, who is determined to put the bad guys away and he is not afraid to stick up for those he considers to be friends.

Well I thought that ‘The Stolen Girls’ was well written but ‘The Lost Child’ is even better written.  This is certainly  one series that just keeps getting better and better   I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and the book held my attention all the way through.  (I usually have the concentration span of a gnat).  I became so addicted to reading this book and I found that I just could not put it down.  It wasn’t that my Kindle was glued to my hand, although it might as well have been, but I simply had to read on to see how the investigation progressed and if Lottie could apprehend the criminals.  The pages were turning that fast that it was almost as if they were turning themselves and before I knew it I had finished the book, which I had conflicting feelings about.  Don’t get me wrong I was pleased to finish the book because at least then I knew how the story panned out but I was disappointed to finish because I was enjoying the writing style and the story so much.  I just didn’t want the story to end.  Reading this book was very much like being on a rollercoaster ride with all the twists, turns and stomach churning moments.  Just when you thought that you could reclaim your stomach then off the action would go again.  Some of the details in this book are rather gruesome but then they are necessary for the story.

In short and if you haven’t already noticed, I absolutely, totally and utterly flipping well LOVED, LOVED, LOVED reading this book.  As I mentioned before this is a series that just keeps doing the impossible and gets better and better with each book that is released.  I would certainly recommend this book to others.  ‘The Lost Child’ can be read as a standalone but in my opinion it’s better to read the series in sequence and from the beginning.  Here’s hoping that we don’t have to wait too long for the next book.  I award this book a very well deserved 5* out of 5* although I would’ve awarded it many more stars if I could because I enjoyed the book that much.

One thought on “‘The Lost Child’ by Patricia Gibney

Leave a Reply

