Uncategorized

‘Deceit’ by Kerry Barnes

Deceit: A gripping, gritty crime thriller that will have you hooked by [Barnes, Kerry]

Synopsis

Someone’s watching you…

Living in a beautiful home on the edge of a council estate, Kara Bannon can’t imagine what it’s like to have nothing.

An eerie phone call plays on her mind and within three days she loses everything – her job, her home and Justin, the only person she thought she could trust.

Alone and terrified, she makes a decision that will change her life forever.

Suddenly she has to enter a new world – Prison.

Revenge is not always so sweet…

 

My Review

If there’s one thing that this Ginger Book Geek likes, it’s discovering new authors.  Although I have several of Kerry’s books on my ever increasing to be read pile, ‘Deceit’ is the first of her books that I have actually read.  Going by how much I enjoyed reading ‘Deceit’, I can 100% guarantee that it certainly won’t be the last of her books that I read.  I absolutely loved it but more about that in a bit.

I couldn’t help but take to Kara Bannon, even if she did irritate me slightly.  She’s a hardworking woman, with a high powered and demanding job.  She has taken her eye off the ball lately and this has led to a drop in the quality of her work.  She isn’t feeling too well at the moment and her mind is overthinking things and working overtime.  She lives with her partner Justin in a beautiful home.  She is convinced that Justin is cheating on her because there is a distinct lack of passion in the relationship at the moment, where once upon a time they couldn’t keep their hands off each other.  It eventually emerges that Justin has been unable to keep his trousers zipped up.  Overnight Kara’s dream world crumbles to dust.  Justin has walked out on her to live with his pregnant mistress and he wants her out of the house.  Kara has been self medicating with pills and taking far more than the recommend dosage.  This self medicating has led to her ‘losing’ all sense of time.  I really felt for her by this point because she was literally on her own.  She had lost her lover, her home and then her job in a matter of hours.  She has no family and very few friends.  If I could have jumped into the pages of the book to give her a big hug then I would have done.  A moment of madness takes over and she deliberately burns down the dream house because she wants Justin to know what it feels like to have nothing.  Unintentionally she has also seriously injured a neighbour and it’s touch and go as to whether or not the neighbour survives.  This moment of madness made me want to jump inside the pages of the book to give her a slap across the chops with a wet fish then I would have done.  Kara admits everything from the start and is imprisoned.  To say that she gets one hell of a shock when she goes to prison is an understatement.  Kara has to get used to a whole new way of living, of talking, of acting and of coming across people that in the real world, she would cross the road to avoid.  Kara has to adapt to survive.  Will Kara manage to survive prison?  Does prison change her?  Will Kara’s luck change?  Well for the answers to those questions and more you are just going to have to read the book for yourselves to find out for yourself because I am not going to tell you.

Flipping nora this book was one hell of a read, that got the blood flowing and the adrenaline pumping.  I was totally addicted from the moment I read the synopsis.  It was almost as if the book cast a spell over me because I found that I just couldn’t put the book down until the moment I finished it.  My Kindle wasn’t glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it came everywhere with me and I begrudged having to put the book down.  If I had to put the book down then I was counting down the time until I could pick it back  up again.  The more I read, the quicker I read and the quicker the pages were turning.  The pages and the time just seemed to fly past in a blur but I didn’t notice because my sole focus was on the book. In next to no time I finished the book, which I was so disappointed about.  Don’t get me wrong I was pleased to finish because I knew how the story ended but I enjoyed the story so much that I just wanted the book to continue.   ‘Deceit’ is very well written and the author certainly knows how to grab your attention from the start.  The author uses such powerful and vivid descriptions that if I closed my eyes I could imagine that I was stood on the street watching the house burn or I was with Kara in the prison.  Blimey oh riley if prison life is anything like Kerry describes in this book then I certainly don’t want to go there.  I wouldn’t last 5 minutes inside as I am a wimp and easily frightened.  Reading this book was much like riding on a very scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with lots of twists and turns.  There were times when I almost read through my fingers because I feared what was going to happen next but realised that I had to read on to find out how the story ended.

To conclude I absolutely flipping well loved reading ‘Deceit’.  I wholeheartedly recommend this author and her books to others.  Kerry’s books are described as being perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole and that is certainly true.  I can’t wait to read what comes next from Kerry but in the meantime I will dig out the books I already have in my ‘To Be Read’ mountain and I will be buying the books that I haven’t got.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is an very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s