Uncategorized

‘Dangerous Girl’ by Emma Tallon

Dangerous Girl: An utterly heart stopping thriller by [Tallon, Emma]

Synopsis

Sometimes your enemies are closer than you think

Anna is finally happy. She’s rid of her abusive ex and she’s co-owner of London’s hottest new club, with her best friend Tanya. But she is worried about her boyfriend, Freddie. He’s keeping things from her. And he won’t tell her where he goes in the middle of the night.

Freddie is furious. A girl has gone missing from one of his clubs and the police are all over him. When a familiar face turns up and threatens him, he’s offered a deal – find the girl or Anna will be killed.

With time running out, Freddie risks everything to save Anna’s life. And if there’s one thing Freddie Tyler is known for, it’s that he never gives up. Not without a fight…

 

My Review

I read and reviewed Emma’s previous book called ‘Runaway Girl’ earlier this year.  I absolutely blinking well loved it even if it did scare me slightly.  As soon as I finished reading it, I immediately looked forward to reading Emma’s next book.  Fortunately I didn’t have too long to wait as ‘Dangerous Girl’ was released on 22nd August.  ‘Dangerous Girl’ is the second book in the series.  As soon as I could get my hands on a copy, I eagerly began to read.  Bloody hell what an amazing read it is.  I absolutely loved it but more about that in a bit.

This book picks up the story a short while after the previous book finishes.  Anna and Freddie have been together for three years.  They are certainly opposites to each other but as the saying goes ‘opposites attract’ and they are certainly attracted to each other.  Anna is in charge of the club but she does things by the book.  Freddie is at the total opposite end of the scale.  He is head of the clan and a much feared figure in the criminal world and beyond.  Well he scared the doo doo out of me but then I am a bit of a (ok a big) wimp and it doesn’t take a lot to scare me.  Freddie is what I would call a true ‘hard nut’.  When he is doing business or dealing with anything to do with the business he keeps his emotions mostly in check but he shows his sensitive side when he is with his family.

Bloody, bloody hell this was one stonkingly brilliant book.  I thought that ‘Runaway Girl’ was brilliant but ‘Dangerous Girl’ is even better.  From the moment I picked this book up I was addicted to the author’s writing style, the storylines and the characters.  I binge read this book in under 24 hours which is very good going for me.  The more I got into the story, the more I read and the quicker the pages were turning.  For me ‘Dangerous Girl’ is simply unputdownable.  My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but  it might as well have been because I took it everywhere with me and I begrudged having to put the book down, which didn’t go down well with my two Labradors.  Oops.  At one point the pages of the book were turning that quickly that it was almost as if the pages were turning themselves and before I knew what was happening I finished the book, which I was gutted about.  I was enjoying everything about the book that I just wanted it to continue.  My intention was to ration how much I read in one go but that intention soon flew out of the window because I was enjoying the book so much that I had to read on and on.  I was desperate to know what fate had in store for the different characters and to see how this episode of the series finished.

This book was one hell of a rather scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride of a read with twists and turns aplenty.  Things happened in the book which I was not expecting and which hit me in the gut rendering me breathless.  At times I couldn’t believe what I had just read and I had to re-read certain paragraphs.  There were moments where I almost had to read through my fingers because I genuinely feared what was going to happen next.  I had to give my head a shake because I realised that if I had any hope of finding out what happened in the book then I had to read on.  As I said at the start of my review, the criminal underworld scares the doo doo out of me so I am quite happy just reading about it.

In short this was one bloody brilliant book, which blows ‘Runaway Girl’ out of the water, as impossible as that sounds.  This series is going to be one of those series that just keeps getting better and better.  The tagline says that ‘Dangerous Girl’ is perfect for fans of Jessie Keane, Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller and it most certainly is perfect.  Emma Tallon deserves to go far and to be mentioned in the same breath as those brilliant writers.  Emma Tallon is up there on my list of favourite and must read authors.  ‘Dangerous Girl’ just has to be up there on my list of top 5 reads of 2018.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s