Uncategorized

‘The House On The Water’s Edge’ by C. E. Rose

The House on the Water's Edge: A gripping thriller packed with suspense by [CE Rose]

Synopsis

Sometimes the past is best left buried

Since the birth of baby Joe five weeks ago, Ali Baker has been struggling to cope. Starved of sleep and haunted by painful memories from the past, she’s a million miles away from the polished, professional barrister she has worked so hard to become.

Then her mother tragically and unexpectedly dies, leaving Ali an orphan. Haunted by her loss, Ali can’t forget her mother’s last words to her: There is something I really need to tell you…

Heading back to the Norfolk Broads to sort her mother’s things, Ali is plunged into memories of her family’s picture-perfect summers on the river.

But as she starts to uncover secrets hidden within the isolated house, Ali is drawn into a dark web that threatens to destroy everything she believed about her childhood – and her very sanity.

Ali may finally discover her mother’s secrets… but at what cost?

My Review

I read and loved C. E. Rose’s previous book called ‘The House Of Hidden Secrets’, which was released in April 2021.  So when I heard that the author was due to release another book called ‘The House On The Water’s Edge’, I just knew that I had to grab a copy and read is as soon as I was able to.  Well I managed to grab a copy and oh boy, ‘The House On The Water’s Edge’ is one hell of a read, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading but more about that in a bit.

I was drawn into this story from the very first word on the very first page.  It was as if the book had developed a hold over me and it was a hold that I wasn’t willing to break.  This hold lasted until the moment I read the very last word on the very last page.  I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough.  I had an inkling of what I thought was going to happen in the story and so I had to keep reading to see if I was on the right track or if I had wandered down the wrong path entirely.  It was easy to become so wrapped up in the story that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the book.  All too quickly I reached the end of the story.  I found ‘The House On The Water’s Edge’ to be a gripping read, which kept me guessing and which kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘The House On The Water’s Edge’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from C. E. Rose.  She certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what proves to be one hell of a story.  For me the story hits the ground running and maintains a fairly fast pace throughout.  The tension levels certainly increase throughout the story and there is a dramatic conclusion.  Reading ‘The House On The Water’s Edge’ felt like being on a scary and at times unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.  I felt as though I was part of the story myself and at the heart of the action, which is thanks to C. E. Rose’s very vivid and realistic storytelling.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The House On The Water’s Edge’ and I would definitely recommend it to other readers.  I look forward to reading much more from this author in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment