Uncategorized

‘Her Husband’s Lie’ by Amanda Reynolds

Synopsis

She thought she trusted her husband with her life; but a lot can happen in a week…

Handsome doctor Matthew Delaney and his wife Nicole have a perfect life. So when Matthew suddenly vanishes, Nicole is in shock.

As Nicole searches for answers, she uncovers a trail of deceit leading straight to the mysterious Glasshouse – a staggering palatial home constructed out of cut glass and icy granite, clinging to the hillside in a gravity defying show of power and wealth.

But the more Nicole learns about the Glasshouse and all its secrets, the more she begins to doubt her husband. Matthew’s words before he disappeared were so reassuring, but now they are simply chilling…

‘Trust me, Nic, I’ll fix this.’

My Review

I have been a fan of Amanda and her work for a while now although I haven’t quite caught up with everything that she has written. I just love the way in which she writes such twisty psychological thrillers. I read the synopsis of ‘Her Husband’s Lie’ and it certainly sounded like just my kind of story. Well it was all that and so much more. I really enjoyed reading ‘Her Husband’s Lie’ but more about that in a bit.

I have to be honest and say that it took me a while to get into ‘Her Husband’s Lie’. Part of the issue was that I was tired when I started to read and finding it hard to concentrate. Another reason was because I didn’t immediately take to either of the main characters – Matthew and Nicole. It could just be that I have read too much crime fiction and I believe nobody and suspect everybody. However as the story continued I got to know them a bit better and I was intrigued to see in which direction the story was going to take me. I would pick the book up only intending to read a chapter or two but I would become so wrapped up in the story that I would still be sat there reading several chapters and an hour or so later. It’s fair to say that I became addicted to the story and that I begrudged having to put it down for any length of time. I kept chopping and changing my mind as to what was going to happen so in that sense the story certainly kept me guessing and kept me on the edge of my seat. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘Her Husband’s Lie’. I found ‘Her Husband’s Lie’ to be a gripping, tense and dramatic story.

‘Her Husband’s Lie’ is extremely well written and then some. Amanda certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what proves to be one hell of a story. For me, the story hit the ground running and from then on it was mo re of a slow burn type of story in the sense that as the story continued, the pace quickened and gathered momentum and led to a rather tense conclusion. Amanda clearly cares about her characters and this shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She describes them so well that they seem just as real as you and I. I also love the way in which Amanda makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway. Reading ‘Her Husband’s Lie’ felt like being on an at times scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.

In short, I really enjoyed reading ‘Her Husband’s Lie’ and I would recommend it to other readers. I hope to read much more of Amanda’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 4* out of 5*.

Leave a comment