Uncategorized

‘ A Wedding In The Sun’ by Leonie Mack

Synopsis

Four exes and a wedding. And a road trip no one expected

Jo Watters would rather do anything than go to her ex-husband Ben’s wedding to perfect Monica, and if it wasn’t for her beloved children she would already be far, far away. But having promised to be civilised for the sake of their soon-to-be-blended family she is headed to Spain with a fixed smile and hoping for a very fixed drink!

But when Jo realises that she’s on the same plane as Monica’s ex-husband, the devastatingly handsome but equally cantankerous Adrián, she thinks her trip can’t get any worse… she’s wrong. When bad weather forces the plane to land the wrong side of the Pyrenees, and the hotel they’re sent to only has one double room available Jo begins to wish she was anywhere – anywhere – but here…

Determined to get to the wedding however they can, Jo and Adrián make an unlikely team, but as their disastrous trip continues, Jo starts to wonder if fate has other ideas for her and Adrián, especially when he seems to be getting more handsome by the day…maybe this trip won’t be so terrible after all?

My Review

I have been a fan of Leonie’s work for a while now although I must admit that I haven’t caught up with everything that she has written. I read the synopsis of ‘A Wedding In The Sun’ and it certainly sounded like the sort of book I have come to expect from Leonie – a funny, escapist read. Well it was certainly all that and so much more. I really enjoyed reading ‘A Wedding In The Sun’ but more about that in a bit.

This was one of those books that drew me in from the start and reading it soon became rather addictive. I initially picked the book up only intending to read a couple of chapters but I was still sat there reading several chapters and an hour or so later. From then on, I found it rather difficult to put the book down. My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story. Part of the reason why I enjoyed the book so much has to do with the fact that I loved the character of Jo Watters. I took to her from the start and she ended up feeling more like a friend than a character in a book. I developed my own theory as to how the story was going to pan out so I had to keep reading to see if I had guessed correctly or if I had gone in the opposite direction. The more of the book that I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘A Wedding In The Sun’ and had to say goodbye to Jo. I found ‘A Wedding In The Sun’ to be a lovely read with lots of sun, fun, love and laughter.

‘A Wedding In The Sun’ is really well written. Leonie has an easy going writing style that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with. In fact reading one of Leonie’s books feels more like a chat between friends over a cup of tea rather than reading a book. I hope that makes sense. Leonie clearly cares about her characters and this shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem just as real as you and I. In fact some of the characters felt more like friends rather than characters in a book. Leonie describes the locations so realistically that if I were to close my eyes, it would be easy to imagine that I was there. I felt as though I was part of the story and at the heart of the action, which is all thanks to Leonie’s very vivid and realistic storytelling.

In short, I really enjoyed reading ‘A Wedding In The Sun’ and I would recommend it to other readers. I hope to read much more of Leonie’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 4* out of 5*.

Leave a comment