Uncategorized

‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ by Georgina Troy

Synopsis

When Lettie’s parents call her and her brother back to Hollyhock Farm on the island of Jersey, the last thing they expect to be told is that their childhood home is up for sale.

Back on the island, with its rolling hills and golden sands, Lettie immediately remembers what it feels like to breathe in the fresh air in the green fields, and be part of this tight-knit community – a far cry from the life of events and high fashion she leads in London.

But she surprises even herself when she suggests that she instead could take over Hollyhock farm. Humouring her, her father agrees to give her a three month trial, and Lettie is determined to prove she’s up to the task.

But the summer season is no easy feat for a new farmer, and Lettie has a huge task ahead of her. And when an old flame reappears in the form of dashing local vet Brodie, Lettie’s summer is about to get even more complicated…

My Review

It’s only fairly recently that I discovered Georgina and her amazing books. One day, I hope to have read everything that she has written to date. I read the synopsis of ‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ and it certainly sounded like my kind of read. I couldn’t wait to dive in and so without further ado, I grabbed my Kindle, grabbed a cup of tea and settled down for a fun afternoon of reading. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ but more about that in a bit.

Can I just say that ‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ came along at the right time for me. I was in need of a fun and lighthearted read which would whisk me away from a wet and miserable village in North East England. ‘Welcome At Hollyhock Farm’ certainly ticked those boxes. I was drawn into this story from the start and I found it nigh on impossible to put the book down for any length of time. My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. Part of the reason why I enjoyed the story so much has to do with the main characters of Lottie and Brodie, who ended up feeling more friends rather than characters in a book. I had to keep reading to see what happened between the pair of them and whether each character got the ‘happy ever after’ ending that they both so deserved. I was so wrapped up in the story that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ and had to say goodbye to Lettie, Brodie and the rest of the characters. I found ‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ to be a delight to read from start to finish with lots of life, laughs and love.

‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Georgina Troy. Georgina has an easy going writing style that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with. In fact reading one of Georgina’s books often feels more like a chat between friends rather than reading a book. I hope that makes sense. Georgina’s love for her characters shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem just as real as you and I. As I indicated earlier on in my review, I began to consider Lettie and Brodie as friends rather than characters in a book. Georgina describes Jersey so vividly and realistically that if I were to close my eyes, it would be easy to imagine that I was there myself with the sun beating down on my face. I love the way in which Georgina makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Welcome To Hollyhock Farm’ and I wholeheartedly recommend it to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Georgina’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment