Uncategorized

‘One Long Weekend’ by Shari Low

Synopsis

When all seems lost, hope remains…

Val Murray has mislaid her most precious mementoes of the people she’s loved and lost. Can her family, the wonders of technology and little divine intervention somehow mend her shattered heart?

Sophie Smith once had to take a rain check on a marriage proposal. But will her desperate bid to turn back the clock lead her to her greatest love or yet another heartbreak?

Alice McLenn stood by her husband when a very public scandal cost them everything. When Larry hits the headlines again, Alice has an opportunity to leave – but can she find the strength to finally walk away?

Rory Brookes was forced to turn his back on his parents to save his marriage and career. Now, he’s lost his wife and job in the same day. Is it too late to make amends with the one person who never let him down?

Three days. Four broken hearts. Just one weekend to make them whole again.

My Review

I have read and enjoyed several of Shari’s books now. I still have a few books to go before I can truly say that I have read everything that she has released. I hope to have achieved this before Christmas. I read the synopsis of ‘One Long Weekend’ and it certainly sounded like the sort of book I have come to expect from Shari- an emotional but ultimately uplifting story. Well it was certainly that and so much more. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘One Long Weekend’ but more about that in a bit.

As with all of Shari’s books, I was drawn to ‘One Long Weekend’ by the fact that I saw Shari’s name on the cover of a book that I knew I hadn’t read yet. AS soon as I started reading the story itself that was it for me. I knew that I wouldn’t be doing anything other than reading for the rest of the afternoon as I knew that I wouldn’t be able to put the book down. I must be psychic because that’s exactly what happened. My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story. Part of the reason why I enjoyed reading the book so much has to do with the four main characters. I warmed to them from the start and it didn’t take me long to consider them as being friends of mine rather than being characters in a book. It was interesting to learn how the characters met each other and how their stories interlinked in some way. I had my own suspicions as to what was going to happen and I had to keep reading to see if things panned out in the way in which I thought that it would. This was one of those books that proved to be addictive reading and the story stayed with me whether I had my Kindle in my hand or not. The more of the book that I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. I was so wrapped up in the story and in the lives of the characters that I didn’t realise just how quickly the time was passing and the speed with which I was getting through the story. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘One Long Weekend’ and I had to say goodbye to the characters. I found ‘One Long Weekend’ to be the true definition of an unputdownable, page turner of a read with lots of life, love and laughs aplenty. It’s an ultimately uplifting story.

‘One Long Weekend’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Shari Low. Shari has an easy going writing style that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with. In fact reading one of Shari’s books often feels more like a chat between friends rather than reading a book. Shari certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what proves to be one hell of a story and then some. Shari certainly cares about her characters and this shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem just as real as you and I. I found that I was so in tune with the characters that I went through all the emotions that the different characters were going through. I always find that the sign of a good book is when I find myself ‘living’ the story as if it was real and interact with the characters as if they can hear me. Well that’s exactly what happened with ‘One Long Weekend’. I love the way in which Shari makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘One Long Weekend’ and I would recommend it to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Shari’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment