Uncategorized

‘Hitler’s Secret’ by Rory Clements

Synopsis

Autumn 1941. The war is going badly for Britain and its allies. If Hitler is to be stopped, a new weapon is desperately needed.

In Cambridge, professor Tom Wilde is approached by an American intelligence officer who claims to know of such a weapon – one so secret even Hitler himself isn’t aware of its existence. If Wilde can smuggle the package out of Germany, the Third Reich will surely fall.

But it is only when he is deep behind enemy lines that Wilde discovers why the Nazis are so desperate to prevent the ‘package’ falling into Allied hands. And as ruthless killers hunt him through Europe, a treacherous question hangs over the mission: if Hitler’s secret will win them the war, why is Wilde convinced it must remain hidden?

 

 

My Review

Not only am I a book geek, but I am also a history nerd.  I find the Second World War particularly fascinating and I love to read books set during that time.  I have a little confession to make.  Although I have all of the previous books in the Tom Wilde series on my ever increasing ‘to be read’ mountain, I haven’t actually got round to reading them yet…until now.  Now I have discovered how fantastic a writer Rory is, I can guarantee that those books will not be on my ‘TBR’ mountain for that much longer.  I thoroughly  enjoyed reading ‘Hitler’s Secret’ but more about that in a bit.

It didn’t take me long to get into this story.  Without giving too much away, I was intrigued to find out just what ‘Hitler’s Secret’ was.  Let’s just say that it is something which has been a rumour for quite a while.  I made the fatal mistake of starting to read the book shortly before I went to bed.  Let’s just say that sleep was delayed for quite some time because I couldn’t bear to put the book down.  I had to force myself to switch the lamp off.  Whilst reading this book, the pages turned at a furious rate.  The more of the book I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn.  I binge read the book over the course of a couple of days, which helped me to get a sense of the urgency of Wilde’s mission.

‘Hitler’s Secret’ is superbly written.  The author has one of those writing styles that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with.  The author drew me into the book from the synopsis alone and the story sealed the deal as it were.  I loved the way in which the author has taken real life events and real life characters and turned them into such a fantastic book.  As I mention above the secret is something that has been a rumour for years and I loved the way in which the author has taken that rumour and turned it into a compelling and believable thriller.  The author described the story so well that as I was reading the text, I was imagining the story playing out in my head. The author uses such vivid and powerful descriptions that I felt that I had borrowed the Tardis and flown back to the Second World War.   The author has perfectly captured the brutality of the Nazi regime as it was back then.

Reading ‘Hitler’s Secret’ was like being on one hell of an unpredictable and scary rollercoaster ride with more twists and turns than you would find on a ‘Snakes & Ladders’ board.  Just when you thought that you could catch your breath and reclaim your stomach then off the action would go again.  On several occasions I almost had to read through my fingers as I feared what was going to happen next.  Certain parts of the book made me wince as if I was the one being tortured or chased.  If you like to read books that make your heart rate soar, your blood pressure rocket and make you bite your nails then ‘Hitler’s Secret’ is the book for you.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Hitler’s Secret’ and I would definitely recommend this book to other readers.  Now I have discovered just how great an author Rory Clements is, I will be reading the other books in the ‘Tom Wilde’ series just as soon as I can.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

 

Leave a comment