Uncategorized

‘Old Cases New Colours’ by Madalyn Morgan

Old Cases New Colours (A Dudley Green Investigation) (The Dudley Sisters Saga Book 9) by [Madalyn Morgan]

Synopsis

Sick of working in a world of spies and bureaucracy, Ena Green, nee Dudley, leaves the Home Office and starts her own investigating agency.

Working for herself she can choose which investigations to take and, more importantly, which to turn down.

While working on two investigations, Ena is called as a prosecution witness in the Old Bailey trial of a cold-blooded killer who she exposed as a spy the year before.

My Review

When I agreed to take part in the blog your for ‘Old Cases New Colours’ I hadn’t realised that it was the ninth book in ‘The Dudley Sisters’ series.  It doesn’t make any difference as the book reads perfectly well as a standalone.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Old Cases New Colours’ but more about that in a bit.

I was drawn into this story from the very start.  The synopsis intrigued me and I just had to read more.  To say that reading ‘Old Cases New Colours’ became addictive is a huge understatement.  I initially picked the book up only intending to read a couple of chapters to fill in half an hour but I took to the characters so well and became so wrapped up in the story that I read a lot more than I had originally intended.  My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me.  I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story.  I seemed to gallop through the story at a rate of knots and at one point the pages were turning so quickly that the page numbers became a blur.  I found ‘Old Cases New Colours’ to be a gripping read, which held my attention from start to finish and kept me guessing.

‘Old Cases New Colours’ is well written.  I loved the characters, I loved the storylines and I loved where the story was set.  Madalyn certainly knows how to grab your attention and draw you into what proves to be a compelling story.  The story tootled along at a gentle pace which suited the story.  I loved the way in which Madalyn created a certain amount of tension and the way in which she weaved twists and turns into the story.  I felt as though I was part of the story and that’s thanks to Madalyn’s very vivid and realistic storytelling.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Old Cases New Colours’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Madalyn’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment