Uncategorized

‘Comatose’ by Jane Badrock

Comatose by [Jane Badrock]

Synopsis

COMATOSE…and her nightmare is just beginning.
Two car crashes, one location, one survivor.
Newly promoted DS Karen Thorpe is determined to prove these are no accidents.
But the only witness is in a coma. Now there’s a rapist on the loose.
Karen’s in the fight of her life…and her boss isn’t on her side.

My Review

If there’s one thing that I like doing it’s discovering new authors.  Jane is certainly a new author for me.  I read the synopsis for ‘Comatose’ and it certainly sounded like an intriguing read.  So without further ado, I grabbed my Kindle, grabbed a cup of tea and settled down for an interesting afternoon of reading.  I did enjoy reading ‘Comatose’ but more about that in a bit.

It took me no time at all to get into ‘Comatose’.  In fact within the first five minutes of starting to read the book, I knew that I was going to be for one hell of a read.  I didn’t manage to read ‘Comatose’ in a single day because I had other commitments but I did manage to read it with three days, which is still pretty good going for me.   I would pick the book up only intending to read a couple of chapters but I would end up becoming so wrapped up in the story that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the story.  I do have to say that there were a lot of characters introduced into the story, which initially proved to be a tad confusing but once I had fathomed out who was who and what part they were playing in the story then all was well.  I found ‘Comatose’ to be a gripping read, which kept my attention throughout and which kept me on the edge of my seat.

‘Comatose’ is extremely well written.  Jane certainly knows how to grab your attention and draw you into what proves to be one hell of a story and then some.  For me, the story hit the ground running and maintained a fairly fast pace throughout.  Reading ‘Comatose’ felt like being on an at times scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.  I loved the way in which Jane kept me guessing as to how the story was going to turn out.  I had my own suspicions but I soon realised that I had wandered down the wrong path entirely.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Comatose’ and I would definitely recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Jane’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment