Uncategorized

‘Echoes Of Home’ by M. L. Rayner

Echoes Of Home: A Ghost Story by [M. L. Rayner]

Synopsis

After accepting a generous opportunity to start afresh, Leslie Wills, a young man from Stoke-on-Trent, eagerly begins his long-distance journey to the Scottish Highlands of Elphin, a settled village that sits huddled amongst the dominating mountains. Its people are welcoming, and the beauty of the land is great. But deep within its Highland paths, a location rests hidden from the public’s eye. A location which entices you to learn the truth of its troubled past. But once you bear witness to its sights and sounds, its presences will never allow you to forget.

My Review

I absolutely love to discover new authors and M. L. Rayner is a new author for me.  I read the synopsis for ‘Echoes Of Home’ and it certainly sounded very intriguing.  I must be honest and say that ‘Echoes Of Home’ is a bit different to the usual stuff that I read but they do say that a change is as good as a rest.  Without further ado, I grabbed a cup of tea, grabbed my Kindle and settled down for an afternoon of reading.  I really enjoyed reading ‘Echoes Of Home’ but more about that in a bit.

It didn’t take me long at all to get into ‘Echoes Of Home’.  Within five minutes of starting to read this book, I knew that I was going to be in for a treat.  I had my own theories as to what was going to happen and I had to keep reading to see if I was on the right track or I had wandered down the wrong road altogether.  I read this book in binges rather than in one long reading spree.  I would become so wrapped up in the story that I would lose all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the story.  I found ‘Echoes Of Home’ to be a gripping read, which certainly kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat.

‘Echoes Of Home’ is really well written.  The author has one of those writing styles that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with.  The author grabbed my attention with an intriguing synopsis and drew me into what proved to be one heck of a story.  Reading ‘Echoes Of Home’ was like being on a slightly scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with lots of twists and turns along the way.  M. L. Rayner writes so realistically and describes things so vividly that I found myself jumping every time something spooky happened in the story.  I suppose you could say that I felt as though I was part of the story myself.

In short, I really enjoyed reading ‘Echoes Of Home’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of M. L. Rayner’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 4* out of 5*.

Leave a comment