Uncategorized

‘Guilty’ by Sadie Ryan

Guilty : A breathtaking psychological thriller that will keep you up all night by [Sadie  Ryan ]

Synopsis

Two Strangers.
A Chance Meeting?
One Moment that will change their lives forever.

Lindy once had the world at her feet. An adoring husband, two beautiful daughter’s and a successful career.
In a split second, a tragic accident causes Lindy’s world to come crashing down around her.

Mia, personal fitness trainer and glamorous wife of a local tv personality seems to have everything.

Slowly Lindy learns more about Mia’s ‘perfect’ life and becomes convinced that they are each other’s saviours.

As obsessions grow and the lines that shape reality become blurred, Lindy’s and Mia’s lives are now forever dangerously intertwined as personalities merge

Nobody with a conscience can survive, can they?

My Review

I have read and loved Sadie’s previous books.  So when I heard that she was due to release a new book, I just knew that I had to read it as soon as I could.  I managed to grab a copy and then I promptly started reading.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Guilty’ but more about that in a bit.

I have to say that I didn’t really warm to either Lindy or Mia.  There was something about both ladies that made me a bit nervous.  It could just be that I have read far too much crime fiction and I suspect everybody and believe nobody.  I won’t go too far into what happens with either lady as I would hate to spoil the story for anybody.  Even though I didn’t really warm to Mia, I did feel for her as her domestic life isn’t as ‘perfect’ as she makes out.  I kept wanting to jump inside the pages of the book to sort out a certain individual.  It’s maybe just as well for him that I couldn’t.

It didn’t take me long at all to get into this story.  In fact by the time I got to the end of the third page, I knew that I would find it increasingly difficult to put the book to one side for any length of time.  I had my own suspicions as to what was going to happen and I had to keep reading to see if I was on the right track or if I had wandered off down another path entirely.  To say that reading ‘Guilty’ became addictive is a bit of an understatement.  My Kindle wasn’t glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me.  I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story.  I finished ‘Guilty’ within a single day.  I found ‘Guilty’ to be a gripping read, which certainly kept me guessing and which kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘Guilty’ is superbly written but then I think that to be true of Sadie’s books in general.  She certainly knows how to grab your attention from the start and she reels you in much as a fisherman reels in a catch.  I love the way in which she crafts a clever and tight plot which takes you on one hell of a journey.  Reading ‘Guilty’ felt like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns on the way.  Some of the twists and turns will leave you feeling stunned or will leave you breathless.  I love the way in which Sadie makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story themselves.  That’s how I feel at any rate.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Guilty’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Sadie’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment