Uncategorized

‘I Let Her Go’ by J. A. Andrews

I Let Her Go

Synopsis

Some secrets should have stayed buried…

Lucy Mitchell had a troubled past, was abandoned by her mother and left to fend for herself in foster care. This is where she met Amber and Josh, but living in a strict foster home brought fears of its own. Fears that brought Amber and Lucy closer together.

Amber and Lucy formed a pact. They said they would be friends for life and often found solace in the local woods to escape from their foster carer, Linda. This was a place they used to hide together, but when only one girl had returned from the woods, the note said Amber had run away.

Fifteen years later and Lucy is planning the wedding of her dreams with Josh until a body is found, then the trauma of Lucy’s past comes back to haunt her.

Tensions mount as Lucy, Josh and Linda all have secrets to hide and distrust makes them question each others story around Ambers disappearance. As the body’s identity is soon to be exposed, life for Lucy takes a terrifying turn for the worst.

The note says Lucy is next! 

My Review

I have read and loved a couple of J. A. Andrews’ books now and so when I heard that he was due to release another book, I couldn’t wait to get hold of a copy.  The synopsis actually made me want to start reading the book even quicker.  So without further ado, I grabbed a cup of tea, grabbed my Kindle and settled down for an interesting afternoon of reading.  Overall I did enjoy reading ‘I Let Her Go’ but more about that in a bit.

I must be honest and say that it took me a little while to get into this book, which I think has more to do with the fact that I was tired when I started to read the book and I was finding it hard to concentrate than anything else.  Once I got into the story then that was it and I was away as the saying goes.  I wasn’t able to read this book all in one go but I did manage to read the story over the course of a few days.  I would pick the book up only intending to read for an hour or so but I would become so wrapped up in the story that I would still be reading a couple of hours and several chapters later.  I found ‘I Let Her Go’ to be an interesting read, which certainly kept me guessing and which kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘I Let Her Go’ is well written.  The author certainly knows how to grab your attention and reel you in as the saying goes.  The author has one of those very vivid and realistic writing styles that makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story themselves and at the heart of the action.  The author writes about some difficult subjects but writes about them honestly and with compassion.  Reading ‘I Let Her Go’ was like being on one hell of a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with many twists and turns along the way. 

In short and overall I did enjoy reading ‘I Let Her Go’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more this author’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 4* out of 5*.

Leave a comment