Uncategorized

‘Camp Death’ by Jim Ody

Camp Death (Question Mark Horror Book 1) by [Jim Ody]

Synopsis

The place had a gruesome past that nobody wanted to talk about…

Camp Deathe is now a great place to spend the summer. Ritchie soon finds a group of outsiders like himself. Teenagers who ignore the organised activities, and bunk off in the old abandoned cabins deep in the woods. The cabins that have a history.

The campfire monster stories were meant to just scare them. Nobody expected them to come true. Then one of the teenagers disappears in the middle of the night.

Something is watching them. It hides in the woods and hunts at night.

Ritchie will have to uncover the secrets of the camp, and understand his own problems in order to survive.

My Review

I have been a fan of Jim’s work for a little while now.  I haven’t quite caught up with everything that he has written but I am getting there.  I read the synopsis for ‘Camp Death’ and I was immediately intrigued.  So without further ado, I grabbed a cup of tea, grabbed my Kindle and settled down for what proved to be an interesting read and then some.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Camp Death’ even if it did occasionally scare the doo doo out of me but more about that in a bit.

‘Camp Death’ is the first book in the Question Mark Horror series.  A major selling point for me was the fact that this book was being billed as perfect for fans of the ‘Point Horror’ series of books.  Back in the day and more years ago than I care to admit to, I was a huge fan of ‘Point Horror’.  So as you can imagine, it didn’t take me long to get into ‘Camp Death’.  In fact by the time I got to the end of the first page, I knew that I was going to seriously enjoy this story and I would find it increasingly difficult to put the book to one side for any length of time.  To say that reading ‘Camp Death’ became addictive is a bit of an understatement.  My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me.  I just couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story.  The book isn’t that long and I managed to finish reading it within the space of a couple of hours.  I found ‘Camp Death’ to be a gripping read, which kept me guessing and which kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘Camp Death’ is really well written.  Jim certainly knows how to grab your attention from the start and draw you into what proves to be a compelling and creepy tale.  For me the story hit the ground running and maintained a fairly fast pace throughout.  Reading ‘Camp Death’ felt like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.  I felt as though I was part of the story and that’s thanks to Jim’s very vivid and realistic storytelling. 

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Camp Death’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Jim’s work in the future.  ‘Camp Death’ certainly gave me the heebie jeebies but I loved every minute of it.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment