Uncategorized

‘Ouija’ by Zoe-Lee O’Farrell

Synopsis

The only thing for certain is the deaths were no accident.

Rayner High School once a prestigious school stands in ruins after such a terrible event.

A year later, a group of friends return to the abandoned school and their nightmare begins.

Something wants to get out and won’t take NO for an answer…

My Review

If there’s one thing that I like doing, it’s discovering new authors.  Zoe-Lee O’Farrell is certainly a new author for me.  I read the synopsis for ‘Ouija’ and it certainly sounded like the creepy sort of read I particularly enjoy.  So without further ado I grabbed a cup of tea, grabbed my Kindle and settled down for an interesting afternoon of reading.  ‘Ouija’ was one hell of a scary read and I loved every minute of it but more about that in a bit.

‘Ouija’ is the second book in the new series published by Question Mark Press.  This new series is being billed as perfect for fans of the Point Horror series, which was published back in the day and was primarily aimed at young adults.  Going back more years than I care to admit to, I was a huge fan of the Point Horror series and so I had high hopes for ‘Ouija’.  I wasn’t to be disappointed.

It didn’t take me long to get into ‘Ouija’.  In fact by the time I got to the end of the first page, I knew that I was going to become seriously addicted to the story.  I am fascinated by the whole idea of Ouija boards, although I am far too much of a chicken to participate myself.  I was intrigued by the plot and I had to keep reading to see if the story would develop in the way in which I expected it to.    The pages turned over rather quickly as I worked my way through the story.  This wasn’t a particularly long book and so I managed to finish it in just a few hours.  I found ‘Ouija’ to be a tense and dramatic read, which certainly kept me guessing and which also kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘Ouija’ is extremely well written.  In fact I had trouble believing that this was the author’s debut novel as the writing style is so polished and confident.  Zoe-Lee certainly knows how to grab your attention and draw you into what proves to be a compelling read.  Reading ‘Ouija’ felt like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.  I felt as though I was part of the story and that’s thanks to Zoe-Lee’s very realistic and vivid storytelling. 

In short, I really enjoyed reading ‘Ouija’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Zoe-Lee’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment