Uncategorized

‘Lunar’ by Martin Tracey

Lunar (Judd Stone Series Book 3) by [Martin Tracey]

Synopsis

Amidst ancient stories of prowling werewolves, the Lunar Society would meet under the light of a full moon to change the face of industry and enlightenment forever. When the discovery of a human skeleton at one of their old haunts coincides with the disappearance of a talented female prodigy, Private investigator Judd Stone is certain that the two are connected.
Travelling as far afield as Prague and as close as his native city of Birmingham, Judd includes past life regressions in an attempt to unlock the explosive age-old mystery and rescue the missing girl.
With a cloud descending over the treasured legacy of the Lunar Society, Judd quickly finds himself embroiled in a shockingly dark underworld of organised crime. So dark in fact he will need a lot more than the light of a full moon to escape with his life.

My Review

I read and loved the first two books in the series featuring Judd Stone, so when I heard that Martin was due to release another book in the series I knew that I had to read it as soon as possible.  ‘Lunar’ is the third book in the series and it is another cracker of a read from Martin Tracey, which I thoroughly enjoyed but more about that in a bit.

I was drawn to this book by the synopsis and the fact that I knew it was another instalment in the series featuring Judd Stone, who I seem to have taken a liking to.  Once I started reading, I found that I just couldn’t stop.  I was intrigued by the storylines and by the characters and I had to keep reading to see what fate had in store for them.  My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me.  I just couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story.  All too quickly I reached the end of the book.  I found ‘Lunar’ to be a gripping read, which certainly kept me guessing and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘Lunar’ is very well written but then that’s true of all of Martin’s books in general.  Martin has one of those writing styles that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with.  I like the fact that Martin’s books are a bit different to the vast majority of crime fiction that I read.  Martin’s books are different in the sense that they incorporate paranormal elements into the story too.  Reading ‘Lunar’ felt like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.  I felt as though I was part of the story and that’s thanks to Martin’s very vivid and realistic storytelling.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Lunar’ and I would definitely recommend this book to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Martin’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment