Uncategorized

‘Best Friends Forever’ by Cathryn Grant

Synopsis

Two friends. One road trip. A journey to hell.

Recently divorced, Abbey is hungry for new experiences, determined to live life to the full.

So when her old college friend, Raven, suggests a road trip, she leaps at the chance. But they haven’t gone far when they realize a stranger is following them.

As his behavior becomes more and more threatening, it begins to dawn on Abbey that this is no random psychopath. He is pursuing them because he is connected to a terrible event in her past.

What she doesn’t know is that Raven hasn’t been completely honest about this trip – she too has been keeping a dark secret.

And now they are running for their lives from a man who knows that one of them deserves to die…

My Review

I have read several of Cathryn’s books now and I have enjoyed them all.  When I read the synopsis of ‘Beat Friends Forever’ and it certainly sounded like the sort of clever psychological thriller that I have come to expect from Cathryn.  Well it was certainly all that and more.  I really enjoyed reading ‘Best Friends Forever’ but more about that in a bit.

I have to say that I didn’t really warm to the lead characters of Abbey and Raven at all.  In fact there was something about the pair of them that started little alarm bells ringing for me.  I got the distinct impression that where they were concerned things weren’t as they might first appear and that each character was hiding something.  Of course it could just be that I have read far too many crime and thriller books and I that believe nobody and suspect everybody.

It didn’t take me long at all to get into ‘Best Friends Forever’.  In fact by the time I got to the end of the first couple of pages I knew that I was going to enjoy the story and that I would find it rather difficult to put the book to one side for any length of time.  I was intrigued by the characters and with the storylines and of course I had to keep reading to see if the story panned out as I expected it would or if I had the wrong end of the stick.  My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled almost everywhere with me.  I didn’t want to miss a single second of the story.  I became so wrapped up in the story that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the book.  All too quickly I reached the end of the story.  I found ‘Best Friends Forever’ to be a gripping, tense and dramatic read.

‘Best Friends Forever’ is extremely well written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Cathryn Grant.  She certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what turns out to be one hell of a story.  The story hits the ground running and maintains a steady pace throughout with a tension level that steadily increases.  The story is written in the form of chapters which are written from the points of view of Abbey and Raven with the occasional chapter taking the format of a diary entry from the former roommate of Abbey and Raven.  The chapters interlink well and the story flows seamlessly as a result.  Reading ‘Best Friends Forever’ felt like being on a bit of a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns along the way.

In short, I really enjoyed reading ‘Best Friends Forever’ and I would recommend it to other readers.  I will certainly be reading more of Cathryn’s work in the future.  The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 4* out of 5*.

Leave a comment