Uncategorized

‘The Christmas Love Letters’ by Sue Moorcroft

Synopsis

A secret romance was just the start of the story…

Tucked into a crook of the Norfolk coast lies Nelson’s Bar – an idyllic village where time seems to stand still. Maddy Cracey has called this beautiful spot home all her life, as had her husband Adey – until an epic row sent him storming out into a blizzard, with no sign of him since that fateful night.

Six years on, and Maddy’s life in the village has settled into a gentle pattern with her young daughter and Great Aunt Ruthie. However, when handsome stranger Raff turns up with a handful of long-forgotten love letters, their quiet life is upended as family secrets from the past are unearthed.

As Raff and Maddy get to know each other, they grow closer and a love story of their own seems inevitable. But when Maddy receives a mysterious message, she can’t help but wonder whether her own past is as distant as she’d thought it was…

My Review

I have been a fan of Sue and her work for a while now. I have read and loved all of her books. As soon as I finish reading one of her books, I immediately look forward to her next book. Sue’s most recent release is called ‘The Christmas Love Letters’ and it was released on 26th October 2023. It’s another cracker from Sue Moorcroft. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Christmas Love Letters’ but more about that in a bit.

Whenever I pick up one of Sue’s books, I know that I am a guaranteed a fantastic read, which will be nigh on impossible to put down. ‘The Christmas Love Letters’ is no exception. I started reading and didn’t stop for a good couple of hours. I was blown away by the emotional story and by the characters. My copy of the book wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story. The more of the story that I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. This was one of those books that I had mixed feelings about finishing. Don’t get me wrong I wasn’t disappointed with how the story ended, because that couldn’t be further from the truth, but I was enjoying the story, the characters and the author’s writing style so much that I just didn’t want the book to end. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘The Christmas Love Letters’. I found ‘The Christmas Love Letters’ to be a delight to read from start to finish and left me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside.

‘The Christmas Love Letters’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Sue Moorcroft. Sue has an easygoing writing style that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with. In fact reading one of Sue’s books often feels more like a chat between friends rather than reading a book. I hope that makes sense. Sue’s love for her characters shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem just as real as you and I. I ended up feeling as though the characters were friends of mine. I was so in tune with the characters that I went through every emotion that the characters went through. I love the way in which Sue makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Christmas Love Letters’ and I wholeheartedly recommend this book to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Sue’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment