Uncategorized

‘The Graveyard Killings’ by Wes Markin

Synopsis

A decades old case….

When the body of a young girl is found exhumed from her grave, DCI Emma Gardner knows there’s more to this grisly find than just misadventure. Penny Maiden was killed in a hit and run accident forty years ago, and her killer was never found…Could someone be trying to right an old wrong?

A DI on the rails…

Determined to bring a dangerous gang of drug dealers to justice, DI Paul Riddick is trying hard to play by the rules. After his previous reckless actions, he knows this is his last chance to stay in the job he loves. But when his private life takes an unexpected turn, Riddick begins to lose control again.

Emma needs Paul to help her with her case, especially when more bodies are found in the same graveyard. But hurt badly by Riddick once before, Emma’s not sure she can trust him again.

But as Paul’s behaviour begins to spiral even more, Emma worries she may have left it far too late to save her old friend Riddick from his own destruction…

My Review

I have been a fan of Wes’s work for a few years now. I have read and loved each and every book that he has written to date. I must admit that at the moment, I particularly enjoy the ‘Yorkshire Murders’ series. I read and loved the first three books in the series and I have been (im)patiently waiting for the fourth book in the series to be released. Well ladies and gents the wait is over because the fourth book in the series is called ‘The Graveyard Killings’ and it was released on 2nd March 2024. It’s another superb addition to what is proving to be a superb series. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Graveyard Killings’ but more about that in a bit.

I was drawn into ‘The Graveyard Killings’ from the very start. In fact seeing Wes’s name on the cover of a book that I knew I hadn’t yet read was enough to grab my attention and draw me in. As soon as I started reading the story itself, I realised two things – firstly that I was in for a treat and secondly that I knew I wouldn’t be doing anything other than reading for the rest of the afternoon because I knew that I wouldn’t be able to put the book down for any length of time. Guess what? I was spot on too because that is exactly what happened. This was one of those books that proved to be rather addictive and the story got under my skin somewhat in the sense that it was constantly on my mind. The more of the book that I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. I became so wrapped up in the story that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘The Graveyard Killings’. I found ‘The Graveyard Killings’ to be a gripping, tense and dramatic read, which certainly kept me guessing and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout.

‘The Graveyard Killings’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Wes Markin. Wes certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what proves to be one hell of a story and then some. For me, the story hit the ground running and maintained a fairly fast pace throughout. Wes describes his characters so realistically and so vividly that they seem just as real as you and I. Reading ‘The Graveyard Killings’ certainly felt like being on an at times scary and rather unpredictable rollercoaster ride with more twists and turns to it than you would find on a ‘Snakes & Ladders’ board. I love the way in which Wes makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘The Graveyard Killings’ and I wholeheartedly recommend it to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Wes’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment