Uncategorized

‘The Last Resort’ by T.J. Emerson

Synopsis

As soon as you first see the house, a former hotel in a picturesque enclave of the Cypriot hills, you know this abandoned resort is the perfect home for you – with breath-taking views, a refreshing pool, and peace and quiet, away from the rest of the world. A place to recover and grow.

But paradise isn’t cheap, and as the debts mount, you could lose everything you’ve worked so hard for.

Until someone makes you an offer: to keep your home, all you have to do is take a life.

But you could never do that… could you?

You’d die to stay here. But would you kill to?

My Review

I read the synopsis of ‘The Last Resort’ and it certainly sounded intriguing and just my kind of read. I couldn’t wait to dive in and so without further ado, I grabbed a cup of tea, grabbed my Kindle and settled down for what proved to be an interesting few hours of reading. Overall I did enjoy reading ‘The Last Resort’ but more about that in a bit.

I have to be honest and say that it took me a little while to get into ‘The Last Resort’. Part of the problem was the fact that I was tired when I started reading and finding it hard to concentrate. I also found it hard to warm to the main characters as there was something about them all that set little alarm bells ringing in my head. After a couple of chapters, I eventually got into the story and found it rather difficult to put the book down for any length of time. I had developed my own suspicions as to how the story was going to pan out so I had to keep reading to see if I was on the right track or if I had wandered off the opposite direction. The more of the book that I read, the more I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. I was so wrapped up in the story and in the lives of the different characters that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘The Last Resort’. I found ‘The Last Resort’ to be a gripping and tense read which certainly kept me guessing.

‘The Last Resort’ is well written. T. J. Emerson certainly knows how to grab the reader’s attention and draw them into what proves to be one hell of a story and then some. For me this was more of a slow burner type of story. As the story continues, the tension levels rise and the pace of the story gathers momentum leading to a tense and dramatic conclusion. The characters in this story are so realistically and vividly described that they seem just as real as you and I. There were several twists and turns to this story- some of which I spotted and others that I didn’t see coming. I love the way in which the author makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

In short and overall, I did enjoy reading ‘The Last Resort’ and I would recommend it to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of T.J. Emerson’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 4* out of 5*.

Leave a comment