Uncategorized

‘Finding Friends At The Cornish Country Hospital’ by Jo Bartlett

Synopsis

A fresh beginning…

Esther Hamilton, is finally finding her feet after her split with her horrible ex, and is looking forward to her new single life. She has a job she loves in the busy Accident and Emergency department, a new home and for the first time ever, a chance to just have fun with her good friends. Love is very much off the cards…

An old friend…

Until the arrival of Joe Carter – the brother of Esther’s best friend, Danni. Joe is also newly single and still as gorgeous as ever, but Esther can’t lose her heart to Joe. If it all went wrong, she’d lose two of her best friends.

A second chance at love?

But working together over a troubled patient, the connection between them is undeniable. And when Esther’s parents’ marriage hits trouble, Joe is there for her, offering her support, and Esther knows she’s fallen hard.

Are they brave enough to take a risk on love, or are they destined to remain friends forever?

My Review

I am a huge fan of Jo and her work and I have been for a few years. Although I haven’t read every single book that she has written to date, I hope to rectify that in the not too distant future. I must admit that I have a particular fondness for the series set in The Cornish Country Hospital. I read and loved the first book in the series and I have been impatiently waiting for the second book to be released. Well ladies and gents the second book in the series is called ‘Finding Friends At The Cornish Country Hospital’ and it was released on 26th March 2024. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Finding Friends At The Cornish Country Hospital’ but more about that in a bit.

I was drawn to this book by the fact that I saw Jo’s name on the cover of a book that I knew I hadn’t read yet. As soon as I started reading, well that was it. I knew that I wouldn’t be doing anything other than reading for the rest of the afternoon because I knew that I wouldn’t be able to put the book down for any length of time. My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. Part of the reason why I enjoyed the story so much has to do with the fact that I loved the main character of Esther Hamilton and she ended up feeling more like a friend rather than a character in a book. The more of the book that I read, the more of the book that I wanted to read and the quicker the pages seemed to turn. I had to keep reading to find out if Esther got the ‘happy ever after’ ending that she so deserved. I was so wrapped up in the story that I lost all track of time and just how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘Finding Friends At The Cornish Country Hospital’ and I had to say goodbye to the hospital, the staff and most importantly Esther herself. I found ‘Finding Friends At The Cornish Country Hospital’ to be a delight to read from start to finish.

‘Finding Friends At The Cornish Country Hospital’ is superbly written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Jo Bartlett. Jo has an easy going writing style that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with. In fact reading one of Jo’s books often feels more like a chat between friends rather than reading a book. I hope that makes sense. Jo’s love for her characters shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem just as real as you and I. I love the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes the Cornish Country Hospital and the area in general. In fact if I was to close my eyes, it would be easy enough to imagine that I was at the hospital with the sights and sounds of such a place going on around me. This was one of those books that took me on an emotional journey and I found myself going through the same emotions that the characters went through. I love the way in which Jo makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action. That’s how I felt anyway.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Finding Friends At The Country Cornish Hospital’ and I would definitely recommend this book to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Jo’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment