Uncategorized

‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’ by Fay Keenan

Synopsis

Aurora Henderson and Leo McKendrick were love’s young dream when they first dated as teenagers.

But like many a first love, parents, life, and distance got in the way, and the couple lost touch. Now, twenty years later, Aurora – Rory to her friends – needs a break. Burnt out from her teaching career and longing to write a novel, Rory heads to the idyllic village of Roseford for a summer of writing and relaxation.

Leo needs a change too. Ex-pat life in Australia has come to a sticky end so the opportunity to run his family’s B&B, Roseford Villas, for the summer is too good to turn down.

Neither Rory nor Leo believe in fate, but when Leo opens the door to his latest guest, he might just have to reconsider. And when a sultry summer fills with nostalgia and memories and six weeks flies by too fast, love’s young dream might just get a second chance…

My Review

I have been a fan of Fay and her work for a while now. By no means have I read everything that she has written but that is something that I hope to rectify in the not too distant future. I must admit that I am particularly enjoying the ‘Roseford’ series. I read and loved the first four books in the series. When I heard that Fay was due to release another book in the ‘Roseford’ series, I knew that I had to grab a copy at the earliest opportunity. Well ladies and gents the wait is over because the fifth book in the ‘Roseford’ series is called ‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’ and it was released on 12th April 2024. It’s another superb story from a superb author. I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’ but more about that in a bit.

As with all of Fay’s books, it didn’t take me long to get into ‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’. In fact by the time I got to the end of the first few pages, I knew that this was one book that I would become addicted to and that I would find it rather difficult to put to one side for any length of time. I was spot on too. My Kindle wasn’t exactly glued to my hand but it might as well have been because it travelled everywhere with me. I couldn’t bear to miss a single second of the story. I warmed to the characters from the start and in fact some of them ended up feeling more like friends rather than characters in a book. I had to keep reading to see if the story was going to pan out in the way in which I thought that it would and how the story would impact on the characters that I grew to care about. I was so wrapped up in the story and in the lives of the different characters that I didn’t realise just how quickly the time was passing and how quickly I was getting through the book. All too quickly I reached the end of ‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’. I found ‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’ to be a delight to read from start to finish with lots of life, love, fun and uplifting moments.

‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’ is extremely well written but then I have come to expect nothing less from Fay Keenan. Fay has an easy going writing style that is easy to get used to and easy to get along with. In fact reading Fay’s books often feel more like a chat between friends rather than reading a book. Fay’s love for her characters shines through in the very vivid and realistic way in which she describes them. She makes her characters seem just as real as you and I. As I mentioned above, I grew to care about the characters and felt as though they had become friends of mine. I love the way in which Fay makes the reader feel as though they are part of the story and at the heart of the action.

In short, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Coming Home To Roseford Villas’ and I would recommend it to other readers. I will certainly be reading more of Fay’s work in the future. The score on the Ginger Book Geek board is a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.

Leave a comment